Options

need job interview advice

brianglbriangl Member Posts: 184 ■■■□□□□□□□
I have an interview coming up this Saturday. It's great that it is on Saturday, I don't have to take vacation time from work.

It is with a local internet service provider.

First, how should I dress? I usually wear a jacket, tie, nice pants and nice black shoes. Should I do the same for this interview, or should I dress more casually (not jeans though). I know it is supposed to be better to overdress a little rather than underdress, but I was thinking a Saturday interview might warrant a more casually appearance.

I have my A+, Net+ and MCP (Windows XP) certs and I am currently studying Windows Server 2003 for the 70-290 test. My immediate goal is MCSA, then find a job and see what direction to go from there. Or if I get this job, see what would be best to study based on their needs.

What sorts of things should I be prepared to talk about in an interview with an ISP? The job was listed as "Computer / Internet Support". I don't know anything else about it yet.

I have never been very good at interviews and everybody tells me I don't have enough experience. I think if I were more of a salesman I could have already had a job in IT. I need all the help I can get here.

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Options
    mwgoodmwgood Member Posts: 293
    I work for a small ISP - tech support, networking, etc.