Sybex..too tough

fugi1fugi1 Member Posts: 58 ■■□□□□□□□□
i'm currently studying with Learnkey's Network+ and i felt pretty confident until i got hold of the Sybex book (deluxe ed). It's a bit hard to follow being quite technical, and i'm not sure if i bought the right book. At the beginning it says it's recommended for people with about eighteen months of networking experience, i don't have any but since i recently passed my A+, i thought i'd be ok. Does anyone recommend a good book for newbies like me?

Comments

• cheebliecheeblie Member Posts: 288
    I used the Exam Cram 2 book for Network+. I too didn't have much knowledge of networks, but I found this book to be a very good resource for the test. It's only about 300 pages, but I found it to be all I needed for the Network+ exam.

Cheeblie
  • fugi1fugi1 Member Posts: 58 ■■□□□□□□□□
    i think that with the sybex book when it discusses a topic, it just goes on and on until it just gets boring to read. I'll probably go for examcram2, it sticks to the point.
  • RussSRussS Member Posts: 2,068 ■■■□□□□□□□
    The ExamCram book sets you up for the exam, but the Sybex book sets you up to be a network tech that understands to concepts and fundamentals - quite a difference there.
    www.supercross.com
    FIM website of the year 2007
  • The_Network_EngineerThe_Network_Engineer Member Posts: 59 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I strongy concur Sybex is a very good company i love thier books im very intresited in networking in general and all about computers then again :)
  • tokhsstokhss Member Posts: 473
    i have the sybex book.. i also have networking experience and i think even though sybex gets a little boring.. it still gives you what you need to know and more. it doesnt go overboard.. but i like how sybex books are.. mainly by Minasi ..
    i got to say though that the software that comes with it is superb, i got no regrets with that
  • LexxdymondzLexxdymondz Member Posts: 356