Options

degree or no degree?

PAT82PAT82 Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
How many of you guys have IT degrees or are working towards one. Did it help you get a job in the computer industry or was it certs and experience. I’ve just started one and I’m not enjoying it, is it really worth doing. I am thinking of doing MCSE instead what would you do? Thanks :)

Comments

• Options
    bighornsheepbighornsheep Member Posts: 1,506
    I am in my last year of Computer Science. Currently working part-time as a database analyst.

Education is very relative to the area you are from. I know that in my city, and probably every other major cities in the world. A degree is a like a 97% must. Some people do make it through to great places without one, but unless you think you are very lucky, and you are very good, dont risk without having one.

Many threads has already concluded that certs in MOST cases DO NOT replace education nor experience. They simply compliments it.

And I sure hope MCSE with 7 exams @ 125 = $875 does not replace my B.Sc. which will cost me upwards $25000 when I am done.

Good luck!
    Jack of all trades, master of none
  • Options
    goforthbmerrygoforthbmerry Member Posts: 244
    Yes experience counts. Certs count. Degrees will open doors that the other two cannot begin to open. I see help desk jobs that want a 2 year degree. Stick with it. One question. Is it the tech classes getting you down or is it all the other seemingly unconnected nonsense. If it is the other stuff, I say just stick with it. That stuff seems to have a way of coming in handy. Well.... Maybe not Psych 101 but the English and business are worth while to have. If it is the tech courses you don't like, you might rethink the MSCE. You will have to read a lot of boring white papers and technical requirements in your tech career. Get used to it now or get out.
    Going for MCSE:security, Intermediate ITIL, PMP
  • Options
    johnnyg5646johnnyg5646 Member Posts: 173