Options

laid off advice

CMICMI Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
There was a layoff at work and I got cut. Any suggestions of where to go from here? Good places to look besides carrerbuilder or monster? I am seeing this as a sign to finish my mcsa. I just started studying for the 290 again. My last project was to install two 2003 servers and a wan. To bad I was unable to stay long enough to finish the project.

Comments

• Options
    computerguy9355computerguy9355 Inactive Imported Users Posts: 81 ■■□□□□□□□□
    No offense, but did you stop pursueing certifications after you got that job (before you got laid off) ?
  • Options
    CMICMI Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Well, Ive only been at this job for four months. So there was not much of a lapse since my last certification. I just got my MCP certificate a month ago.
  • Options
    SlowhandSlowhand Mod Posts: 5,161 Mod
    Definately a good sign to get your cert. That's exactly what I did when I was out of work, (not laid off, my contract position ended.) I managed to find a good job.

Two resources for you to look at are craigslist.org (search for your area), and Dice.com is more of a tech job search site.

Free Microsoft Training: Microsoft Learn
    Free PowerShell Resources: Top PowerShell Blogs
    Free DevOps/Azure Resources: Visual Studio Dev Essentials

Let it never be said that I didn't do the very least I could do.
  • Options
    garv221garv221 Member Posts: 1,914
    Hit the concrete & start looking. Good Luck!
  • Options
    goforthbmerrygoforthbmerry Member Posts: 244