Options

group policy question

nelnel Member Posts: 2,859 ■□□□□□□□□□
heres the deal....

i need to put a file upon every users desktop. we have a 2000 native system with xp clients. all the clients do not use roaming profiles so i cannot simply put the file in the appropriate profile.
ive had a look in group policy but cant seem to come across anything.

does any1 have any ideas about placing the file on the desktops?

i was thinkin maybe a batch file but i need to ensure it is completed on everyones desktop and obviously the batch file could not tell me iff it had or not.

any help would be great.

thanks in advance
Xbox Live: Bring It On

Bsc (hons) Network Computing - 1st Class
WIP: Msc advanced networking

Comments

• Options
    woodwormwoodworm Member Posts: 153
    Copy it over with a startup script?

I'm not too good at scripting ... icon_redface.gif But this would check to see if the newfile.txt exists, if it doesn't it will copy it over and then write the name of the PC to "hostname.txt"

if not exist "%allusersprofile%\desktop\newfile.txt" goto newfile
    exit

:newfile
    copy c:\new\newfile.txt "%allusersprofile%\desktop\newfile.txt"
    hostname >> \\server1\share\hostname.txt

This would need to be a startup script in GPO rather than a logon script as users do not have write access to the 'All Users' profile.
  • Options
    sprkymrksprkymrk Member Posts: 4,884 ■■■□□□□□□□
    woodworm wrote:
    Copy it over with a startup script?

I'm not too good at scripting ... icon_redface.gif But this would check to see if the newfile.txt exists, if it doesn't it will copy it over and then write the name of the PC to "hostname.txt"

if not exist "%allusersprofile%\desktop\newfile.txt" goto newfile
    exit

:newfile
    copy c:\new\newfile.txt "%allusersprofile%\desktop\newfile.txt"
    hostname >> \\server1\share\hostname.txt