OWA on 2000 machines

itdaddyitdaddy Senior MemberPosts: 2,088Member ■■■■□□□□□□
hey guys

i have windows 2000 machines and we have OWA running
it doesnt seem to want to come up through the 2000 machines.
but in XP and 2003 it does..IE is the same what is up?
i have not aclue

itdummy!
thanks icon_rolleyes.gif

Comments

  • blargoeblargoe Self-Described Huguenot NC, USAPosts: 4,170Member ■■■■■■■■■□
    Error message?

    Has it ever worked?
    IT guy since 12/00

    Recent: 2/2019 - Updated VCP to 6.5 (just a few days before VMware discontinued the re-cert policy...)
    Working on: RHCSA 7, learning Ansible
    Future: RHCE? VCAP6.5-DCD?
  • sprkymrksprkymrk Posts: 4,884Member
    From internal source (LAN) or external?
    What is OWA running on; OS/Exchange versions?
    Are the clients configured identically with proxy servers in IE?
    All things are possible, only believe.
  • itdaddyitdaddy Senior Member Posts: 2,088Member ■■■■□□□□□□
    blargoe - has it worked yes,
    mark - hey bud
    i just used Firefox/mozill and nice browser. it told me my cert was wrong cert. and asked if i should accep it (gave me a warning that it could be fake)
    but it isnt the tech groomed this cert for his proxy/mail server to accept mail
    through SSL to it (we get email to our exchange through a proxy mailserver)
    i have to talk to the exchange tech (as you know mark alot of changing hands here atmy work and i am just trying to solve these disjointed issues.
    he comes next tuesday.. IE6 doesnt prompt me but Firefox dose and
    i can bring wup OWA and it is internal OWA not external OWA to www.
    thankss
    i just would like to get the IE 6 in 2k to prompt me for acceptance of cert but
    freaking wont..it is an IE 6 security setting? not sure which one?
    do you guys know ho to get it topromopt me for cert acceptance. and when
    tech comes in i want to explain he needs to make i the same name as our url.
    thanks will keep yopu informed
  • Danman32Danman32 Posts: 1,243Member
    Sounds like they are running Exchange 2003, or configured IIS to use SSL. SBS would install a generic certificate on the server, which IE would recognize the root cert that the server cert came from.
    Mozilla however may not be as familiar with the certificate root that generated the cert the server is using. You can add it though as a trusted root cert, or trusted cert.

    First, try setting OWA in IIS to not require SSL for the time being to see if SSL is the problem.
  • itdaddyitdaddy Senior Member Posts: 2,088Member ■■■■□□□□□□
    hey guys
    thanks for all your help. sorry i am so slow at completing answer
    but the CA was wrong on our Relay email server as well
    got it figure out but thank you for your support

    you are what make this forum rock!

    robert(aka itdaddy)
    :D
Sign In or Register to comment.