Options

getting started

lafferlaffer Member Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm looking to get started in an IT career (it's always been kind of a hobby) and I currently have no certs. What is the best way to get started to build a solid cert background? I realize that ill need experience as well, and that I'll be working crappy jobs for a while, but just to get some stuff on paper for a resume, what would you guys recommend? CCNA? A+? MCSE?

Any input is greatly appreciated...I'm a cert newb icon_sad.gif

Comments

• Options
    CessationCessation Member Posts: 326
    laffer wrote:
    I'm looking to get started in an IT career (it's always been kind of a hobby) and I currently have no certs. What is the best way to get started to build a solid cert background? I realize that ill need experience as well, and that I'll be working crappy jobs for a while, but just to get some stuff on paper for a resume, what would you guys recommend? CCNA? A+? MCSE?

Any input is greatly appreciated...I'm a cert newb icon_sad.gif

Comptia A+
    Comptia Network+
    Comptia Security+
    Microsoft 70-270
    Microsoft 70-290
    Microsoft 70-291
    Microsoft 70-293
    Microsoft 70-294
    Microsoft 70-297
    Microsoft 70-298

Cisco CCNA
    Cisco CCNP

Do all that in that order and you will be well on your way =P
    A+, MCP(270,290), CCNA 2008.
    Working back on my CCNA and then possibly CCNP.
  • Options
    royalroyal Member Posts: 3,352 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Oh and btw, you don't need to do 297 and 298. You can choose between the two. You'd need to do an elective though for the MCSE portion.
    “For success, attitude is equally as important as ability.” - Harry F. Banks
  • Options
    int80hint80h Member Posts: 84 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Skip the Comptia junk. They're not worth the paper they are printed on. Start out with a vendors cert (Cisco, Juniper, MS, etc.)
  • Options
    Ricka182Ricka182 Member Posts: 3,359