Preparing for exams

HotKeys68HotKeys68 Member Posts: 10 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am sorry for asking this. I know it has been posted quite a few times but what is your way of studying.

When I took the NT 4.0 exams I had a copy of the transcenders and books. Now I am studying for the 290 and I only have an Exam Cram book. What else do I need to make sure I am ready. I have seen on this site and others, practice exams but there are only like 20 questions....

Comments

• deneb829deneb829 Member Posts: 292
    I used the MS press course book and workbook and exam cram 2 as my primary source of material.

Lots of hands on - set yourself up a server and at least touch the things you did not know. A good example of where this helped me was with backup/restore and ASR. Before I started studying, I did not know what ASR specifically did or how to use it. The test sims asked about the process of using ASR, and I could not remember how to use it from my readings, so I backed up and restored a server using ASR and was able to remember the steps and what it did. I got at least 2 questions on the 70-290 specifically about ASR and probably 4 or more about backups/restore and other disater recovery in general.

Exam sims and review questions (including this site). Be careful not to count on these as study material - IMO they really should only be used for review. I know a guy who only used review questions and ended up failing twice. Once he went back and hit the books he passed. For as addicted as I was to exam sims and review questions, I really had to avoid putting too much stock in them as actual study material.

I bought the 70-290 (and 70-291) audio CDs from prep logic during their sale. They were ok, but were more of a broad overview, I can only suggest them for someone starting out. Prep Logic had sample training videos on their site which I actually thought were pretty good. I didn't buy the video because they were a bit pricey. Too bad you can't get those videos from Netflicks!