Options

Is it too late ?

terry_tamterry_tam Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
I have been working in public library for almost 6 years as a library assistant. No promotion and no raise in salary are the main reasons that lead me to quit this job. I want to get a job in I.T. field. Therefore, I studied hard in the past few months to take the MS exam. Now, I nearly obtained the MCSE just remaing one paper 70-228. A question come in mind that is it too late to join in I.T. field as a guy aged thirty and lack of experience. Actually, I am not recultant to work as a rookie. Please give me some comments! Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    Ricka182Ricka182 Member Posts: 3,359
    I would start looking for a job now. Actually, I would have started looking before you got all those cert. You're going to have a mid/high level cert with no experience supporting that knowledge. You'll probably have to start at a help desk or something similar, which an MCSE won't really help there, as it's almost too much. You may get lucky, but you'll have to do grunt work for a while, especially in IT, where experience is worth way more than any cert nowadays. I don't think it's too late, just don't give up. You may want to look at some lower level certs to pad your resume, such as A+, Net+, or Sec+. I don't know many people with MCSE, no experience, and a good IT job......
    i remain, he who remains to be....
  • Options
    johnnyg5646johnnyg5646 Member Posts: 173
    I totally agree. Experience is where it's at. Don't worry about being 30. That's still very young. You have some great certs there. If I were you, I'd probably get my A+ and then only put like two of the lower level MS certs on your resume with the A+. Then, once you work somewhere for a while and are looking to advance, bring back all the other tests you have to the resume and finish the MCSE. But maybe someone else has a better strategy...

Good luck!! icon_wink.gif
    BS - Computer Science
    MS - Computer Information Systems