Options

Breaking into IT?

boatguy1982boatguy1982 Member Posts: 51 ■■□□□□□□□□
I have a degree in Information Technology Management as such I have a very strong background in the Hardware aspect of IT but no real background with the software. Do any of you have suggestions on how I can break into the Network admin world? All these companies require experience and how am I going to get that without working? I have offered to accept less pay in exchange for a job, I mean I know topologies, standards, and the deep details of the hardware and applications just not the software like exchange server, sql, and server 2003.

I am teaching myself for my mcse and I probably will go take my net+ and A+ next month. But what else can i do. I have a wife and a kid to support and I am getting tired of working 100 hours a week at 2 low wage jobs every since I left the military. Any suggestions would be great!
Thanks a ton!

-Phil

Comments

• Options
    elover_jmelover_jm Member Posts: 349
    i would suggest that you start off by applying for any helpdesk positions or computer technician just to get your feet wet (even if it means wotking for little or nothing), but never give up applying jobs in IT regardless of what their "required experience" you must have.

at the same time you should definitely start your certification paths do some entry level certs for example CompTia A+ and Network+.

After which you should continue to persue more Advance certifications Like MS or Cisco.

I was looking for jobs for almost eight months since i graduated, when i finally got one i got seven more calls for interview the same week, just one of those things tht happens when ur a newbie in this IT world but never give up trying :)

Good luck on your IT Career Endevours.

Cheers
    stonecold26.jpg
  • Options
    SlowhandSlowhand Mod Posts: 5,161 Mod