Options

types of questions on OS test

gregweb16gregweb16 Member Posts: 23 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi,

I'm studying for the core OS test and I'm wondering what types of questions everyone thinks might be on the exam in regards to the core system files?

I know that the test might ask a simple question like "What 3 files are required for NT/2000/XP to boot?" or "What is the function of NTBOOTDD.COM?"

But, what about a question like this:

A technician's windows 2000 pro system has 256 MB of RAM. Their users have systems that are identical except that they have 128 MB of RAM. The technician needs to test an application to see if it will provide adequate performance on the users' workstations. What switch can be added to the BOOT.INI file to have the system use only 128 MB of its RAM?

A. /M=128
B. /MAX=128
C. /MAXMEM=128
D. /MEMMAX-128

answer: c

Or a question like this:

In which file can the entry LOGO=1 be changed to LOGO=0 to disable the windows 98 animated logo during the boot process to be able to view the error message as well as the devices that are being loaded?

A. IO.SYS
B. CONFIG.SYS
C. SYSTEM.INI
D. AUTOEXEC.BAT
E. MSDOS.SYS

answer: e

Well anyway I saw both of those questions on a practice test and I thought they were very challenging and not what is described on the objectives. Do you think that the questions in this post are what one might encounter on the OS test or will they be more simple or is there no way of knowing?

Thanks,

Greg

Comments

• Options
    PlantwizPlantwiz Mod Posts: 5,057 Mod
    gregweb16 wrote:
    Hi,

I'm studying for the core OS test and I'm wondering what types of questions everyone thinks might be on the exam in regards to the core system files?

I know that the test might ask a simple question like "What 3 files are required for NT/2000/XP to boot?" or "What is the function of NTBOOTDD.COM?"

Greg,

Don't get hung up on the questions. If you know the material and understand the concepts covered in the Objectives you will do well.