(CCNP) curriculum has received a major overhaul

darkuserdarkuser Member Posts: 620 ■■■□□□□□□□

From: Fast Lane Cisco Training [mailto:training@flane.us]
Sent: Monday, November 06, 2006 2:01 PM
To: 666
Subject: Cisco Certifications Update from Fast Lane

The Cisco Certified Networking Professional (CCNP) curriculum has received a major overhaul to make it better align with Cisco's newest technologies and products.

The new CCNP certification is made up of 4 courses. The BSCI and BCMSN courses have been revised and two new courses, ISCW and ONT have been introduced to replace the BCRAN and CIT courses which reached end of life on October 15, 2006.

The new curriculum teaches you how to better support end-to-end IP infrastructures and advanced technologies. Router and Switch Security, QoS and High Availability, Wireless LANs, and VoIP have also been integrated throughout the curriculum.

Here is a brief summary of the changes:
BSCI v3.0 - Updates include EIGRP and OSPF Authentication and IPv6. Implementation and deployment of the Cisco Integrated Services Routers (ISR) is now included.

BCMSN v3.0 - This updated Multilayer Switching course now includes the latest in Cisco Catalyst Switching, Wireless Networking and also discusses Voice and Data in a LAN environment.

ISCW v1.0 - This comprehensive 5-day course teaches you how to enable WAN connection technologies for remote access between enterprise sites. Included are: NAT, MPLS, VPNs, and network security using VPNs with IPSec and IKE.

ONT v1.0 - With Cisco's Optimizing Networking Technologies course you will gain an understanding Quality of Service (QoS) and how it fits into both Foundation and Advanced Network Solutions.

New Options for Professional Level Recertification
Effective August 17, 2006, individuals who hold an active CCNP, CCDP, CCIP, CCSP, or CCVP will recertify their professional level certifications when they pass any other Cisco professional level certification exam or when they pass any CCIE written exam.

The expanded professional level recertification policy recognizes certification holders who have taken steps to diversify their networking knowledge and skills to keep pace with today's evolving networking environment.

How To Recertify:
Renewal requires you to register for and pass the appropriate Cisco exam(s) prior to the certification expiration date.

Go here to see a complete list of Cisco Courses

Changes to the Cisco Channel Partner Certification Program
Cisco recently announced major changes to the certification requirements for Channel Partners to help better differentiate the unique skills and capabilities of their partners and recognize their commitment to the Channel Program.

Technology Expertise
The Channel program offers Cisco partners three certification levels.

Premier Certification requires the new Express Foundation Specialization
Silver Certification requires the Express Foundation Specialization, plus either of the two following options: - Any two advanced Specializations - or - Express Unified Communications Specialization plus one advanced Specialization, excluding the Advanced Unified Communications Specialization.
Gold Certification requires all four of the following: Advanced Routing and Switching, Advanced Security, Advanced Unified Communications and Advanced Wireless LAN Specializations for expanded expertise across multiple advanced technologies.
Advanced Technologies
Cisco Specializations reflect the level of partner expertise in specific technologies. The three levels of Specialization are:

Express Specialization: The Cisco Express Foundation Specialization provides integrated training in routing and switching, wireless LAN, and security technologies. The Express Unified Communications Specialization qualifies partners in the area of converged data, voice and video networking.
Advanced Specialization: Partners can achieve Advanced Specialization in Unified Communications, security, wireless LAN and routing and switching technologies.
Master Specialization: Partners with a highly qualified practice in a given technology can achieve Master Specialization, regardless of certification level. The new Master Specialization provides greater opportunities for differentiation.
Lifecycle Services
Integrated Cisco Lifecycle Services training offers partners an understanding, by technology, of identified, repeatable and proven processes for selling, delivering and supporting Cisco solutions. Applying the Cisco Lifecycle Services approach helps partners improve deployment success, customer satisfaction and productivity, providing more opportunities to strengthen customer relationships and boost profitability.

Express Foundation Specialization: A requirement for Cisco Premier Partners.
Cisco Partners have until March 2008 to fulfill the enhanced Channel program requirements.

Go here to learn more about the Channel Partner Program

Fast Lane is Cisco's fastest growing Cisco Learning Solutions Partner (CLSP) and is offering Authorized Cisco Training in cities across North and South America. Register for a public session or have the training brought to your location! Phone us today to speak with one of our Training Specialists!

Fast Lane Consulting and Education Services, Inc.
www.flane.us | (919) 674-3100 | info@flane.us

This email was sent to:
Go here to leave this mailing list or modify your email profile.
We respect your right to privacy. View our policy.

This email was sent by: Fast Lane Consulting and Education Services, Inc.
315 North Academy Street - Suite 155 Cary, NC 27513 USA
rm -rf /


Sign In or Register to comment.