BS in Information technology or Certification

tony71tony71 Member Posts: 66 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi Guys,

I have been reading most of your posts and it helps alot, alot of tips I can go by. icon_smile.gif

I do have a question, I have 3 years of experience in installing softwares and hardwares, mostly desktop migration (XP Migration) Had 3 months of help desk experience working for L3 communications but it wasn't what I expected it to be. I'm currently working for CA as a data migration tech, also did some software testing on a software which was created but it wasn't much.

I'm currently going back to school to get my BS in either information security or networking or maybe go for a double major. I was thinking is this is the right way to go or maybe I should get the CCNA cert instead?

Currently I feel like I'm stuck, when I was working at the help desk I was getting 43k but I realized it just wasn't what I wanted to do being on the phone and now the job I do have with CA is mostly data migration and its not exactly what i want to do and the pay sucks.

Oh I'm 35 years old. Any advise would be appreciated.

Comments

• DirtySouthDirtySouth Member Posts: 314 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I think that in the long-run having a Bachelors will be more beneficial. There are MANY employers that simply will not hire someone unless they have a degree. Granted, there are those that won't hire without a cert, but I would be willing to bet not near as many.

Unfortunately a degree is going to cost you a lot more, but will be very helpful in whatever field you go into, IT or not.
  • royalroyal Member Posts: 3,352 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I would finish your degree and then worry about certifications. The degree will get you in the door for many different jobs. Then you can concentrate on the certifications which will help you advance your technical expertise for the area of technical background you wish to pursue. Good luck.
    “For success, attitude is equally as important as ability.” - Harry F. Banks