Which CCNA study guide ??

mugs19mugs19 Member Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi,
I am new to CCNA. I have done CCDA and am familiar with the concepts of networking...Now am planning to go for some hands-on experience as my network design job isnt very exciting!!
I am planning to get CCNA certified on self-study. I have no experience on router/switch configurations..
Can some one tell me if its possible to learn and pass the exam based on the study guides and sim CD's available in the market ?

How is the CCNA study guide by Richard Deal ? I am inclined towards purchasing it because it comes with a CD tht includes Lab videos and Boson network simulator !! But its edition is 2003 and I am not sure if it'll cover the latest exam related topics since I have heard that the exam questions keep updating.

Any suggestion on how I should go about it !!!

thanks
Mugs16

Comments

• mikej412mikej412 Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■
      The CCNA Forum FAQ has a section on books.... I've seen people mention the Deal book, but usually the Odem books with the Sybex book is the most suggested for the CCNA.

There is also the Sim vs Lab section. Hands on practice is very important, and you should try and get some hands on work with real routers and switches -- but yes, you can pass the CCNA with just the Simulator. If the version you get has all the Boson Labs, then it covers just enough. You may run into problems with the simulator if you try things outside of the included labs.

Since you're working in network design now -- if you have access to 7200 or 3600 IOS images you might want to take a look at Dynamips, and the Front-end configuration tool Dynagen.

It's easier to start with Dynagen -- which includes the Dynamips version that works with it in the download. Dynagen has a dependency on Winpcap 4.0 -- the download link for that is in the first URL below. Dynagen works on Linux and XP.

Dynagen - The Dynamips Configuration Generator

Dynamips / Dynagen Tutorial