Options

Getting burned out from work

DixieWreckedDixieWrecked Member Posts: 13 ■□□□□□□□□□
Maybe some can relate. I've been a security engineer for about 3 years. When I first started here, it was great. Nothing but vulnerability assessments and traffic analysis (my strong point). Very little paperwork.

Now (a year later) I find myself doing less hands on and MORE paperwork. This consists of writing technical documents for our customers, industry best practices etc. I've been stuck doing this about a year and it SUCKS.

The money is good, as are the people (especially my boss) and the atmosphere. But I find myself being less productive these past few months, mainly because the work just sucks. I feel bad I'm kind of slacking off on the job, but everyone keeps thinking I'm doing a great job. We are doing very well here and have grown tremendously since I've been here. I just feel like my skillset is being wasted on paper pushing. I feel like I'm being pigeon holed, but no one else can do the work. I'm the only security guy in the entire company.

Is it time to move on?

Comments

• Options
    DirtySouthDirtySouth Member Posts: 314 ■□□□□□□□□□
    It sounds like everything else about your job rocks. Couldn't you talk to your boss about this and see if theres another position you could move into?
  • Options
    sprkymrksprkymrk Member Posts: 4,884 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Not time to move on just yet, if everything else is still good. It is time to diversify. Request that you get more hands-on to stay current and relevant in your field so your paperwork will reflect real-world stuff and not last year's best practices. See if you can do a week or two "in the trenches" every month.
    All things are possible, only believe.
  • Options
    PlantwizPlantwiz Mod Posts: 5,057 Mod