RHCE Question->

sharptechsharptech Member Posts: 492 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hey guys - new here to the linux forum :P

I just got offered a job where I will be trained to get RHCE certified. I have one month before I started the job so I wanted to know which materials I should get?

I am new to Linux - however they are providing training to get me through this.

I wanted to get material related to RHCE so I could get started studying and preparing one month before I start.

Thanks..

Comments

• sprkymrksprkymrk Member Posts: 4,884 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Download and install CentOS, it's closer to Red Hat than Fedora.
    Congrats on the job! icon_cool.gif
    All things are possible, only believe.
  • sharptechsharptech Member Posts: 492 ■■□□□□□□□□
    sprky -

The company uses RedHat Fedora so I will be installing that - I might get a few books on it as well.

Thanks for the suggestion.
  • sprkymrksprkymrk Member Posts: 4,884 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Oh, well then use Fedora! icon_lol.gif

However, for preparing for the RHCE exam, I still recommend CentOS (unless you can afford a copy of Red Hat). And this book always looked tempting to me, but I don't have the time to invest in the RHCE right now so never bought it:

http://www.amazon.com/Certified-Engineer-Linux-Exam-RH302/dp/0072253657
    All things are possible, only believe.
    Sprky -

Thanks and a few questions..

Is this the right one to DL ? -CentOS 4.4 i386.

Can I dual install Fedora and CentOS?

I want to use both and thanks again for the help.
    Also -

How much is it to take this test and where are the centers as to where you can take it?

Thanks..
  • remyforbes777remyforbes777 Member Posts: 499
    I heard that the test is around 800 dollars. I don't know where test centers are located. If you are using an Intel machine to install it on then that one will work. The i386 specifies the architecture. i = Intel 386 is for their 386 line of CPU's.
    Thanks!