Options

Day 1 - Networking Newb

Daniel333Daniel333 Member Posts: 2,077 ■■■■■■□□□□
Alright,

Just passed my Network+ 5 hours ago, and now I am onto CCNA. And after reading the FAQ. I have the following items due by Wednesday
1) Two Cisco 2503 Routers with Console/Power Cables Lastest IOS
2) Cisco Switch 1912 with cables
3) Sybex 5th edition CCNA

I have no experience with Cisco equipment, or any major networking equipment to speak of. Short of small 3-5 node deals back when I worked for the Geek Squad (don't laugh, it paid well).

Is May a reasonable amount of time, given, maybe 5 hours a week of study time, to get certified?

Is there any advantage to taking the two test against, the single test?

I have a few old computers, I was going to setup as the "nodes" in my network. Any tutorials on setting up console access for linux?

Can the routers be setup to take DHCP addresses, to replace my little linksys one? Can they work as DHCP servers for all the computers in my house?

Man, there was something else I wanted to ask, but now I've forgotten. Always the second, you take the time to ask.. ha.

Alright, well. Thanks in advance, I am sure I'll have plenty more.
-Daniel

Comments

• Options
    bmaurobmauro Member Posts: 307
    First things first...

For the CCNA drop the 1900 switch - it is no longer covered in the CCNA, and will be little to no help to you.

Look at 29xx switches - they are more expensive, but that is what you need for the test.
  • Options
    ReardenRearden Member Posts: 222
    I'd set up one of your boxes to be a dhcp server. Linux does that very easily.
    More systems have been wiped out by admins than any cracker could do in a lifetime.
  • Options
    What does a 2900 series do that a 1900 series does not?
    -Daniel
  • Options
    mikej412mikej412 Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■
    deshana wrote:
    Is May a reasonable amount of time, given, maybe 5 hours a week of study time, to get certified?