Options

What Does a Network Engineer do???

hackdugoodhackdugood Member Posts: 18 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey, I'm new to the Cisco World, and I want to try to get a job as a Network Engineer in the future, but of course that takes study, certifications and other stuff... I'm curious to know though... What does a Network Engineer do?

If anyone is a Network Engineer then let me know what it's like in everyday activities because I wanna know if it's something I wanna do. Thanks people!

Comments

• Options
    So nobody is an Engineer?
  • Options
    RussSRussS Member Posts: 2,068 ■■■□□□□□□□
    As little as possible for the greatest possible renumeration icon_lol.gif

In reality our network engineer spends his time reading screens of data traffic and overdosing on coffee trying to keep awake. That and spening hours on the phone to various clients ISPs trying to explain to them how their networks are falling over and how to put things right.
    www.supercross.com
    FIM website of the year 2007
  • Options
    forbeslforbesl Member Posts: 454
    hackdugood wrote:
    What does a Network Engineer do?

Whatever my boss tells me to do....
  • Options
    mikej412mikej412 Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Search Monster, HotJobs, Careerbuilder, etc., and see what employers and recruiters put in their job descriptions.

And then realize that no job description survives contact with a customer.
    :mike: Cisco Certifications -- Collect the Entire Set!
  • Options
    garv221garv221 Member Posts: 1,914
    mikej412 wrote:
    Search Monster, HotJobs, Careerbuilder, etc., and see what employers and recruiters put in their job descriptions.

The majority of posts on techexams can be found between 8AM-5PM..
  • Options
    TrailerisfTrailerisf Member Posts: 455
    Don't believe anything Mike says. He really works selling carpets in a small shop in Mumbai.

His certs are just whatever keys popped up while banging his head on the keyboard.

Too much Moutain Dew.