Options

Cisco Academy

apcronnellyapcronnelly Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey guys, this is my first time posting after browsing the forum for almost a year.

Has anyone gone through the Cisco Academy, and how has it helped you prepare for the exams?

I have been through the CCNA portion and am halfway through the CCNP. I feel it has been very beneficial with plenty of studying and 2.5 years of hands on lab work. I plan on taking the CCNA over winter break.With plenty of studying I am hoping going through the Cisco classes will also pay off.

Thanks

Comments

• Options
    sprkymrksprkymrk Member Posts: 4,884 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I did the CCNA portion about 4 years ago and really enjoyed it. As it turns out, it was the most "hands-on" experience I had before and since with routers. So I am very glad I went (it did help a lot with passing the CCNA) and recommend the class to others.

I manage a 100% Windows environment, but it's a small network of about 400 +/- computers, so we only have 3 routers which are rarely touched, but we do have several dozen switches - however even with those it's the same old "port security" and "shut/no shut" commands all the time, nothing much to do on them otherwise.
    All things are possible, only believe.
  • Options
    mikej412mikej412 Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I went through the CCNA Cisco Network Academy Courses. While the courseware could have used the services of a good technical editor and/or proofreader, I thought it (and the labs) covered more than enough material to pass the CCNA. I took my CCNA4 final on a Tuesday and took (and got) the CCNA that Friday.
    :mike: Cisco Certifications -- Collect the Entire Set!
  • Options
    apcronnellyapcronnelly Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Thanks guys, and yes I agree they should have hired a technical editor.
  • Options
    DirtySouthDirtySouth Member Posts: 314 ■□□□□□□□□□