Options

if it was you what would you do??

Hi everyone

I'm sortta at a cross roads here...Im' preparing for my 291 to complete my MCSA

after that I really wanted ot specialize in security....since I ind it extremly interesting...and easy to study for

BUT

I've been an admin for a small company for 3 months now and I know I'm weak in exchange but, my boss still asked me to move everytihng from exchange 2000 to 2003 on a diffeent machine (almost completed it).

so since I work for a comapony of 50 users and security isn't really a big concern as other compaines I've worked for Should I just suck it up and write my 70-284 cert.

I think that is what I'll do even though I'm not overly interested in being an MCSA + messaging but I tihkn it will help me earn points with this company by saying I relaize I'm weak in this but I fixed it.

what would you do??

Comments

• Options
    sprkymrksprkymrk Member Posts: 4,884 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Delay security for a couple of months to nail the messaging. If you think about it, security is NOT a stand-alone subject. You can't know how to secure something if you don't know how to operate/manage it in the first place. You have to learn networking before you can learn how to secure a network, you have to know how to use Linux before you can learn how to secure it, etc.
    All things are possible, only believe.
  • Options
    SmallguySmallguy Member Posts: 597
    I know what your saying

but security is so much cooler...lol

I just find it more interesting than exchange

so I guess the plan now is

291 sit before x-mass
    the a week break and 284
    then sec+
    then I'll finish my MCSE
  • Options
    sprkymrksprkymrk Member Posts: 4,884 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Sounds like a good plan.
    And I agree, security is cool .
    Keatron is my role model when it comes to security and professionalism. icon_cool.gif
    All things are possible, only believe.
  • Options
    WebmasterWebmaster Admin Posts: 10,292 Admin