Options

Hands-on experience / Lab for Network+

seccieseccie Member Posts: 53 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi guys,

I'm studying for Network+ from the handbook by Glen Clarke (Osborne/McGrawHill). The book suggests quite often trying something by oneself (e.g. configuring Active Directory on MS WS 2003) with detailed description. I'm going to do it, because I'd like to pursue MCP and CCNA as well.

Now the question: is hands-on / home lab experience useful for Network+? Does it really help to pass the exam?

Thanks in advance

Comments

• Options
    supertechCETmasupertechCETma Member Posts: 377
    seccie wrote:
    is hands-on / home lab experience useful for Network+? Does it really help to pass the exam?
    It might help in better understanding the concepts involved in a broad sense. There are some troubleshooting type scenario questions but they are mostly concerned with general connectivity. Still, it couldn't hurt. icon_cool.gif
    Electronic Technicians Association-International www.eta-i.org
    The Fiber Optic Association www.thefoa.org
    Home Acoustics Alliance® http://www.homeacoustics.net/
    Imaging Science Foundation http://www.imagingscience.com/
  • Options
    SlowhandSlowhand Mod Posts: 5,161 Mod
    As with any exam, having hands-on experience is always a benefit. If you've never touched the technologies you're being tested on, you can't really say you're qualified to hold the certification.

Free Microsoft Training: Microsoft Learn
    Free PowerShell Resources: Top PowerShell Blogs
    Free DevOps/Azure Resources: Visual Studio Dev Essentials

Let it never be said that I didn't do the very least I could do.
  • Options
    Slowhand,

have you seen the CISSP or CISA curriculum? You are physically not able to have experience with all the domains you are tested on.

Btw. what about guys who want to gain knowledge about new area? They do learn about something unknown, otherwise they won't get a job in the area.