Options

I passed, but I am not happy.

rjb37rjb37 Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Took and passed N+ yesterday, I got a 773. I am happy I got my cert but I am incredibly disatified with the network + exam.
A few observations from my point of view and a little about me. I have been working in electronics since 1974 and specifically with computers since 1988. I got passed over too many times because I did not have A+ or N+ so I decided to spend the time and money to get them.
First: I think that there is way too much "knowledge" to understand for what you are tested on. I studied for four months for this test-spent over $300 on practice tests and only to get a 773 score on the test that matters.
I think I got more relevant networking questions when I took the A+ exam.
Two pionts: First do I really have to know how to hook up a game controller to admin a network? I had two questions on that.
Second point: I thought the exam was supposed to be generic. I had several questions on cisco routers, MAC OS X ver 3.0 and 3.3 and Linux server.
I especially like the way the cisco router questions were worded. They didn't "cisco" anywhere in the question body, but if you didn't know cisco you will get the question wrong.
My final thought is this and it pertains to A+ also: Even when you think you a good grasp on the material and practice tests are being scored well, there is and will be, questions on the "real exam" that will leave you feeling stupid.

Comments

• Options
    sprkymrksprkymrk Member Posts: 4,884 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Well congrats anyway. :)

The exam is considered vendor-neutral, not vendor-neutered. In other words, it does not focus on any OS in particular, but knowing how to network in the various OS's on a general level is something you will encounter in the real world and therefore relevent to the exam.

Good job though, a pass with any score gets you the paper to show the HR folks when promotion time comes around. icon_wink.gif