Options

Password Recovery

telecomops101telecomops101 Member Posts: 128
A friend was asking me if their was any way to recover a forgotten password for a FAT, FAT32 or NTFS system. I didn't know of any way that this could be done. I am new to PC troubleshooting (just passed my A+) and I am trying to build my own guide to troubleshooting. Can icon_idea.gif anyone assist me with this if their is any way to do this. Thanks.........This is one great site....
"Every job is a self-portrait of the person who did it. Autograph your work with excellence."

Comments

• Options
    TheShadowTheShadow Member Posts: 1,057 ■■■■■■□□□□
    To be honest I am always leery of answering a question posed this way for several reasons.

1) If they are logging on to a system everyday why did they forget their password.

2) If they just received the system used then why did the seller not give them the password. It is kind of like buying a automobile without the key.

3) why does the user not know what file system it is?? FAT is only good for two gig and pen drives are bigger than that now. So is it Win95 since WIN98 and up use FAT32. If it is WIN95 or 98/ME for that matter just press escape and go. That is, unless you need networking and then just make up a new user name and password. Very insecure

4) For NTFS we need to know if it is a file system password or a logon password. If it is a file system password then you need the admin password to decrypt the files. If it is a logon password then caution is needed. First you need to know if the files are encrypted. If they are then you are in bad shape unless you have the elusive admin password.