Options

Network documentation

seccieseccie Member Posts: 53 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi guys,

I'm studying for my Network+ cert, aaand I've found an interesting sentence in my study book (by G. Clarke, excellent IMHO). It goes like "backup strategy should be along with network blueprints a part of your network documentation" or somehow like that.

Now my question: what in your oppinion should be contained in a network documentation? What kinds of docs are a must to call a ND complete? Do you know a resorce on the Internet with a template/index of required documents?

Comments

• Options
    royalroyal Member Posts: 3,352 ■■■■□□□□□□
    There's no specific set of documentation. It all depends on company needs. There should always be documentation, but something as big as backup should definitely be included in their documentation on how the company goes about backing up and restoring their data.

As a consultant, we are always talking to their IT departments and the decision makers on what they exactly want. We have several documents that assist us in the process of all stages. Planning, Designing, Implementation, Closure, and more. In these phases, there are several different things we can include. Backup strategies (AD, Data, etc..), Procedural Documents, and more. It is up to the company to decide how in depth they want you to go with their documentation.

I hope this is what you were looking for.
    “For success, attitude is equally as important as ability.” - Harry F. Banks
  • Options
    royalroyal Member Posts: 3,352 ■■■■□□□□□□
    There's no specific set of documentation. It all depends on company needs. There should always be documentation, but something as big as backup should definitely be included in their documentation on how the company goes about backing up and restoring their data.