LAN network setup with win XP

alisoomroalisoomro Member Posts: 14 ■□□□□□□□□□
hi everybody
I am new to networking i have three computer with windowx xp professional on all and i have one hub i want to connet these three computers with each other to make peer to peer network( just simple network for file sharing and printer sharing with TCP/IP protocol)
please help me how can i connect three computer or tell me website from where i get information from very basic about network LAN setup

waiting for response

ali

Comments

• SlowhandSlowhand Mod Posts: 5,161 Mod
    The most basic thing you can do is change the workgroup name of each computer to be the same, such as "workgroup". That way, you can share files and folders among the computers, allow the sharing of printers, things like that. If you're looking to do more advanced things, I'd say your first step should be a trip to the bookstore for some reference material on the basics of home networking, and a hop on over to TechNet and then take a look at some simple howto's, like How Stuff Works.

Microsoft has some other help sites, but TechNet should be your first stop if you're really interested in learning about the inner workings of XP workgroup networking.

Free Microsoft Training: Microsoft Learn
    Free PowerShell Resources: Top PowerShell Blogs
    Free DevOps/Azure Resources: Visual Studio Dev Essentials

Let it never be said that I didn't do the very least I could do.
  • sprkymrksprkymrk Member Posts: 4,884 ■■■□□□□□□□
    In a workgroup environment, do these things:

1. Make sure they are all part of a workgroup of the same name, as Slowhand mentioned. By default they already should all be part of a workgroup called "Workgroup".

2. Set up the same user name and password on all three computers. You could create a user account on each computer called "Ali" and give them all the same password.