Options

Need help - Salary related

ipchainipchain Member Posts: 297
Hello guys,

I decided it was time to go ahead and post my resume online. I posted it two days ago and I already got a call today. It was a staffing agency, and they offered me about $12.50/hour for helpdesk. While I have no experience ( ie, I haven't worked in IT before ), I am one exam away from getting my MCSA and I wondered whether or not I should take that. I believe that's nowhere near what I should be getting with my certs, and wanted to know what would be the starting salary for Helpdesk with no experience, but with A+, Network+, Security+, MCP, and being one exam from MCSA 2003. Thanks, I greatly appreciate all of your responses.

I forgot to add I also have an Associate Degree in Computer Information Systems.
Every day hurts, the last one kills.

Comments

• Options
    Orion82698Orion82698 Member Posts: 483
    Sometimes, getting your foot in the door and having experience on the resume means more than your certificates. It's all in how the employer looks at it. Personally, I took a job making squat for my first IT position. I was making more delivering parts for auto stores, but I needed my foot in the door.

After 6 months, I was out of there making a hell of a lot more.

The point is, it's entry level and you won't be making that forever. You could go in, get your MCSA completed, then negotiate a salary increase.

You could also wait, and see what else comes a long. Remember, this is your first job, and companies like to see experience too. They're probably looking at your certs and seeing that you have no experience, but a lot certifications. Not insulting you by any means, but you have to think where they're coming from too.

Best of luck!
    WIP Vacation ;-)

Porsche..... there is no substitute!
  • Options
    Onion,