RAID problem

KGhaleonKGhaleon Member Posts: 1,346 ■■■■□□□□□□
I've had very little experience using RAID, and don't understand it completely. I've got this computer with my that has RAID 0 set up on it with three hard drives. One ATA drive and two SATA, the ATA drive just has some data on it and isn't important. The two SATA drives seem to be set up with Striping.

On boot when I look at the RAID setup it looks like this:

RAID 0:
Size
Drive 1
250GBish
Good
Drive 2
250GBish
error occurd

etc

It then gives me the system32/drivers/pci.sys error, meaning that something is missing or corrupt. A simple chkdsk could probably correct the problem, or I could try copying the file from a windows disc...but I'm not sure which of the two hard drives I should be working on to correct the issue. I'm still trying to find the RAID drivers. Suggestions?

KG
Present goals: MCAS, MCSA, 70-680

Comments

• tibultibul Member Posts: 240
    well the thing with striping is that the data is split apart across the two drives this is why you have better speeds with RAID 0 as it reads from both the drives at the same time so effectively your working on both drives, can you boot up into windows?
    Studying 70-292.
    Aiming for MCSA: Security and 2003 upgrade.
  • KGhaleonKGhaleon Member Posts: 1,346 ■■■■□□□□□□
    So it basically just sees both drives as a single partition? Yeah, windows does not boot. I get this error message:

system32/drivers/pci.sys

Not something that I couldn't easily fix with an ATA drive. I'm just not sure how to go about correcting this in a RAID. I figure if I can find the RAID drivers I could go into recovery console and try to restore the files...but I can't find the drive. ;_;

KG