Options

On Call Allowance - Weekends

malcyboodmalcybood Member Posts: 900 ■■■□□□□□□□
My work are considering making the regional field engineers on call at the weekends and fielding the helpdesk calls (diverted to mobile).

What would the standard renumeration for an "on call allowance" be? Would it be your hourly rate time and a half sat? double time sunday? time and a half both days?

We are awaiting an "offer" coming back from the business, but I've never done on call before so was just wondering what the going rate is. It is a 1600 user environment and it will be mainly doing remote access first time fixes and logging calls for the engineer on the Monday if unable to resolve etc. No site visits required on weekends, we need to be "within an hour" of a broadband connection to VPN into the systems for troubleshooting.

Also, we are actually 2nd line desktop/network support and being asked to do helpdesk work at weekends (though I left the helpdesk behind for good LOL).

Anyone's feedback who has been on call or in a similar situation would be much appreciated.

Cheers

Malcybood

Comments

• Options
    sprkymrksprkymrk Member Posts: 4,884 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Way back when (before I was salary) we used the time and a half method with a couple of bullet points:

1. Your time starts when the phone rang, not when you get to a place where you can launch the VPN. If you were 30 minutes from home and got a call that required you to access the VPN, it started right then. You charged for the thirty minutes it took you to get home, plus resolution time.

2. Minimum charge was 1 hour for fielding a call. If you got a call and had it resolved in 20 minutes, you got paid for 1 full hour.
    All things are possible, only believe.
  • Options
    Thanks for the info.

I am on a salary, this is why I am asking as it will involve amending my contract to reflect the change in working hours/salary etc.