Options

Walking backwards

sexion8sexion8 Member Posts: 242
Hey all, just a little intro to those on this list, hope I can be of help and vice versa. I'm currently titled a "Network Security Engineer" at a VoIP company. I've 8+ years networking experience, 14+ years sysadmin (Irix, AS400, SunOS, HPUX, you name it) 8+ security experience (tiger team contractor for IBM for a little while).

I've never bothered with certs since I've never really needed them. I've been fortunate enough to deal with the geeks in departments where I interviewed and passed all forms of ON SITE testing. (One test included a Birthday attack internally for a security position). Anyhow... I'd like to think I'm experienced enough, I've designed and implemented decent sized backbones (a OC12 based campus WAN with 30+ VLAN's), have worked with everything up to OC3's (currently working statically on multiple DS3's etc.). Currently I deal a lot with Asterisk/SIP/H323 stuff. POTS, etc., ,etc.

So... Long story short, in/around 1997 when I first started learning about certs, I thought: "Neat, let me get this CCIE book and do the do"... Studied for months on end while working in the field (networking/security).... Found out later about the steps required... CCNA --> CCNP --> CCIE ... Didn't bother studying much more. The dotcom days spoiled me since I was already making more than most of those certified.

Well, decided to hit the books in order to actually get certs just to see if I can do them. I've never been a studying kind of person, since textbooks don't appeal to me. I've written security documents, networking documents, Denial of Service documents, you name it, but alas the time has come for me to stop being lazy...