Options

Military becomming a civilian...

brotherbrown831brotherbrown831 Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey every one... Im a network engineer in the Air Force I have been working on mid sized LAN(6,000+) and global WANs(100,000+) for 6 years now.. I have a CCNA and a CCDA and am just about done with my CCNP and CCDP. I am NOT a cert baby I am very comfortable working with a wide range of technologies but I am not a windows guy, I am strickly layers 1-4. I am leaveing the Air Force soon and am curious about the current market for router jocks like myself. I have an Assosiates in computer science and an active TS/SCI clearance. Is there a need for people like me out there? I can always re-enlist in the military however I would like an oppertunity to build my skills and knowledge higher and I have gone as far as the AF wants me too. Besides the salary has to be better then what im making now icon_razz.gif Any advice or inputs would be very appreciated, as this is an extremely stressful and scary transition for me.
There are only 10 kinds of people in the world, those who read binary and everyone else..

Comments

• Options
    cbigbrickcbigbrick Member Posts: 284
    If you have any sort of Security Clearence...you are golden. Check out job fairs that only allow people with security clearences.
    And in conclusion your point was.....???

Don't get so upset...it's just ones and zeros.
  • Options
    Orion82698Orion82698 Member Posts: 483
    cbigbrick wrote:
    If you have any sort of Security Clearence...you are golden. Check out job fairs that only allow people with security clearences.

I second this.

You'll probably have to do a lifestyle poly for the civilian clearence, since the military holds yours now, but that shouldn't be a big deal as long as your nose is clean.

There are TONS of jobs in the federal sector. Big $$$'s if you're willing to work in the VA area... but there are more than just DoD as you know. DoJ, DoS, DoE... for examples.

Good luck!