Oracle Certification Next?

Dusty0463Dusty0463 Member Posts: 27 ■□□□□□□□□□
Well, I decided that I'm going to probably start going for my Oracle certification next, after I get my CCNA. I know it's not networking related, but it is IT related and as they say, the more you can show on your resume the better.

Plus, as I'm looking at these job sites lately, alot of the positions seem to be oracle this, oracle that....Granted most of them want experience, but at least with all of those job positions out there, I have more of a chance in running into a position that will take someone in entry level.........

Dusty

Comments

• M_BoydM_Boyd Member Posts: 31 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Plz don't take me wrong and I am new to this but I do pose a question to you....

What do you wish to gain out of these certifications ?

If you have decided networking isn't for you then yeah go for oracle ! but if you want to get a job in IT you need to work out your area of expertise....not just get things for the CV. Imagine I was an employer and I have a CCNA or CCNP and I had a java developers certificate, and I was applying for a networking job. Do you think they would even have the slightest care over how good you understand java. I can say categorically NO. I don't mean to be mean but you have to understand priorities. Think about the certs you could get to further your networking with the effort applied. Now Imagine another networking certificate and how your employers would react to seeing that on your resume. You are marketing yourself for A JOB, not many jobs...

When was the last time you saw networking jobs advertised as - knowledge of oracle a definate plus...

YOU have to make yourself a marketable product for a company. Sure it says he's got another cert but hey do I care .... thats how employers will see it.