Options

Top 10 Linux Commands

ally_ukally_uk Member Posts: 1,145 ■■■■□□□□□□
As i'm fairly new to Linux ( less than a year experience using Ubuntu,DSL,Debian,Finnix)

What would you say are the top 10 commands every use should at least know

Could you give me details of what the command is and a brief description of what it does

Many Thanks

Ally
Microsoft's strategy to conquer the I.T industry

" Embrace, evolve, extinguish "

Comments

• Options
    EdTheLadEdTheLad Member Posts: 2,111 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Your not gonna believe this but i went to google and typed "Top 10 Linux Commands" and i found this link http://www.computerhope.com/unixtop1.htm , there were lots more pages too! Wow im amazed at this google thingy!
    Networking, sometimes i love it, mostly i hate it.Its all about the $$$$
  • Options
    Very impressive :0

I'm proballyl going to go to the local library and get out a few books on UNIX for Numpties

lol

• Options
    malcyboodmalcybood Member Posts: 900 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I downloaded ubuntu iso last night for the first time to see what all the Linux hype was about and ran the LiveCD version. I quite like it based on first impressions.

It has a very "Maccy" style to it don't you think? But I believe Mac OSx is written on a Linux platform?

Anyway I'm planning on familiarising myself with the environment before I start trying to get into using the cmd line. You may know about this resource on the site but I'm planning on having a good rake through this over the next week or so:

Version 6.06 - https://help.ubuntu.com/6.06/
    Version 6.10 - https://help.ubuntu.com/6.10/ubuntu/desktopguide/C/index.html

The one thing I noticed was that my WLAN driver doesn't install on it, but apparently you can do a bit of jiggery pokery on the command line to run your windows drivers in Linux through using NDIS wrapper and using the .sys and .inf files?