Options

School name does it matter?

buchatechbuchatech Member Posts: 89 ■■□□□□□□□□
I have my AS degree and am getting my BS from the same school. The school is Minnesota School of Business. MY question is does it matter if you get your degree from a big name university or or college which may not be so well known? Does this affect your career?

Comments

• Options
    DeJayDeJay Member Posts: 14 ■□□□□□□□□□
    School name doesn't really matter. The only universities that are looked upon as second rate by the industry are online universitys.
  • Options
    SlowhandSlowhand Mod Posts: 5,161 Mod
    It really depends on a couple of things. Some employers are sticklers for "big-name" schools, and that's usually the bigger corporations. Places like Google or Microsoft might be a little discriminating on whether you went to Harvey Mudd College, or you took online classes from Heald. In some cases, (like the comparison I just mentioned,) it might make a difference where you went to school, if the schools are so radically different. If you're up against someone who has a place like MIT, UC Berkeley, Harvey Mudd College, etc. on their resume, and you have a degree from an online university, for example, you may be put on the back-burner by employers.

In most cases, though, as long as you have the education, employers will give you the chance you need to show that you have the skills for the job. No education is going to hurt you, and a degree will always open doors for you that you'd probably not have without it. Especially when you've managed to work up the experience to back it up.

Free Microsoft Training: Microsoft Learn
    Free PowerShell Resources: Top PowerShell Blogs
    Free DevOps/Azure Resources: Visual Studio Dev Essentials

Let it never be said that I didn't do the very least I could do.
  • Options
    buchatechbuchatech Member Posts: 89 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Slowhand wrote: