Options

Question about Contractor position on resume

BreadfanBreadfan Member Posts: 282 ■■■□□□□□□□
I work as a contractor for a major company here in SC. The question I have is this:

Do I put the company that I work for (the employment agency) or the big firm on the resume as the company I work for? Would I put the employment agency in parenthesis beside the company?

If I put the employment agency on the resume, to me, it would look like I am doing all of the things I am listing on the resume with them, but instead doing it at the other company.

Sorry if this has been posted before, but I want to make sure my resume is correct.

Also, would I list my boss on a bank loan or the employment agency number. seems to me that would hinder me from getting one if i put the employment agency since its not a perm position. my boss wouldnt tell them its not a perm position unless they asked.

Thanks again for the advice
Mark Twain

“If I cannot drink Bourbon and smoke cigars in Heaven than I shall not go.

Comments

• Options
    JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,028 Admin
    As a contractor, you work for the employment agency, which then farms you out to employers. On your resume, put the temp agency as your primary employer and list in subsections each contract job that you worked. This makes it clear that your temp agency should be called for a reference first and your contract jobs second. I've worked several temp jobs, and if called for a reference the HR department would have no idea who I was. The only way to get my reference would be to call the temp agency that employed me.

In any case, do not represent a job worked through a temp agency as having worked as an actual employee of the company you were contracted to. One phone call resulting in a "never heard of him!" from HR will end up being a missed employment opportunity for you.
  • Options