Options

Helpdesk/Desktop Remote Support

Brandon779978Brandon779978 Member Posts: 10 ■□□□□□□□□□
hello... i was just looking for some insight as to how your first or current helpdesk/desktop support role was like...

i'd have to say i would feel more comfortable in a hands-on environment but i'm getting the feeling that when i do land my job in a helpdesk/desktop support role it will be remote support...

how did you get worked into the environment?

does your company have some sort of database or something to access to help resolve common issues?.. are there prompts or simulations you go through?..

what kind of software is used to actually make the remote connection to clients?

i guess i just get nervous because i have limited experience in a hands-on environment troubleshooting things but if i get on the phone with someone in Florida who can't get their email through Lotus notes or something then i'm going to be stumped... lol...

Comments

• Options
    hackdugoodhackdugood Member Posts: 18 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Well the company I got hired for was very nice... There are two helpdesk Technician and the first few days, nobody expected me to know everything because the company has a lot of propietary programs and schematics that I don't know. The first month for me I would say was the learning month. The second, they start staring at you. The office is great except that my co-worker is a jerk and talks me down and makes jokes at me because he's 31 and I 19... Jealousy.... lol.

So don't sweat it, you'll be fine, just make sure you know the lingo of what they expect you to know!
  • Options
    mrhaun03mrhaun03 Member Posts: 359
    I agree...the first month is a learning period. After being there a little while, you get to see exactly what you're working with. If there's something you really don't understand, I'm sure you can ask or research it. I didn't think I was ready when I got my helpdesk job, but it turned out completely different from what I thought.