Options

Career Path

SheppySheppy Member Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello All,

I have a small problem about which path in IT i take. My personal background is quite different to most peoples so let me spend a minute or two explaining:

I am naturaly talented and bright, and have managed to do well without putting much effort in during school. In year 11 (year you take GCSE exams) I was kicked out of school for cannabis use. I went to another school to take my GCSE exams and got 7 GCSEs (4A's, 2B's, 1C incl A's in Maths Eng Science (double)). I then carried on at that school as a 6th form student studying Maths Bio and Chem, hoping to work in medicine later. I was then kicked out of that school a few months ago because i wasnt putting in effort to these subjects (at all). I am now a technician earning £11k/year.

I have come to realise my career must be in IT. I am 17 years old and have a large IT related background. At about 11 years I started developing my IT skills. I started learning PHP and MySQL web development, and created an online gaming league website which held the team information/match fixtures/results/user authentication/private messaging system and more, much like http://www.enemydown.co.uk/. I then started working in the web industry at age 14 when I ran a small business hosting websites on a VPS running CentOS and custom configured cPanel/WHM. I learnt how to use Linux, how to interact with clients and work in customer support with tickets, setup client billing and support software (ModernBill and Kayako), plently of networking/DNS etc.

I also setup an office network for my dad aged 15, which consisted of a server and 8 client computers. Completly windows based, i designed and implemented the network successfully using Active Directory and Exchange Server, file sharing, print sharing, company site hosting using IIS, etc. So I also have some experience working with windows networks.