Options

Need advice on building a domain network

eltoroeltoro Member Posts: 168
Hi guys, I am just starting to study for my 290 and need to setup a domain network for my lab. I have 3 client pcs and 1 server with 2003 enterprise edition, all connected to a 4-port Netgear router. Ok I have already installed active directory and DNS on this server but having problems joining the client pcs to the Domain. I can't even ping the server from this clients. Am I missing something? This is my first time building a domain network so any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks
Masters in Computer Science / Software Engineering (Dec. 2010)
Illinois Institute of Technology

Comments

• Options
    royalroyal Member Posts: 3,352 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Do the lights on the rj45 ports light up when connecting from the client computer to the switch? Check the rj45 ports on the nic and the switch and make sure those LEDs are lighting up. Make sure your clients are retrieving ips. Are your clients configured to use DHCP? If so, where are they getting DHCP from? Does your Windows server have dhcp installed on it? Does your home router have DHCP installed on it? Perhaps both your Windows Server and your home router are giving out IP addresses. If this is the case, perhaps one dhcp server has given out IP addresses to your client which are on a different subnet than your Windows Server. I doubt it's your ethernet cables since you said none of your clients can ping. Make sure you are using straight-through ethernet cables, not crossover cables. Also, check your Windows Server firewall. It could be blocking icmp responses. I doubt this is the case since your clients cannot even join the domain which makes me think it's actual network connectivity issues rather than just the firewall blocking a response. It's something to keep in mind though.
    “For success, attitude is equally as important as ability.” - Harry F. Banks
  • Options
    eltoroeltoro Member Posts: 168
    icroyal wrote: