Options

OSI CRITICAL

configure terminalconfigure terminal Member Posts: 10 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am currently studying for the exam and theres just to much contradiction out there. Anywayz could someone plz clear up for me what layers of the OSI does the NIC, MAU, CSU/DSU, WAPs operate. Especially for certification purposes how does Comptia and Cisco view this?

Thanks techs

Comments

• Options
    ally_ukally_uk Member Posts: 1,145 ■■■■□□□□□□
    NICS are assigned MAC Addresses and operate at the data link layer

CSU/DSU - Physical layer it terminates physical data connections

MAU - Physical Layer

I'm not sure which layer a wireless access point operates at my guess would be Physical

Hope this helps
    Microsoft's strategy to conquer the I.T industry

" Embrace, evolve, extinguish "
  • Options
    ally_uk wrote:

MAU - Physical Layer

I'm not sure which layer a wireless access point operates at my guess would be Physical

Hope this helps

Thanks for clarification!!!!!!!!
  • Options
    malcyboodmalcybood Member Posts: 900 ■■■□□□□□□□
    ally_uk wrote:

MAU - Physical Layer

Hope this helps

Thanks for clarification!!!!!!!!

If I'm wrong the someone correct me but I understand Access points as operating at both layer 2 and layer 3.

Layer 2 is the layer that encryption operates at but Access points also use IP to communicate which is the network layer part.

It appears to be bit of a grey area but if I was given every layer to pick from in a question EXCEPT layer 2 then I would pick layer 3 as communication is over IP and encryption is optional and vice versa if network layer was not available.

Cisco Aeronet WAP documentation mentions the above in this document

http://www.cisco.com/global/CH/de/solutions/smb/isr/cisco_aeronet.pdf
  • Options
    sprkymrksprkymrk Member Posts: 4,884 ■■■□□□□□□□
    From this sites own TechNotes:

icon_arrow.gifhttp://www.techexams.net/technotes/networkplus/osimodel.shtml
    NETWORK (LAYER 3)