Options

Employability - Certifications without hands on experience?

emsrescueemsrescue Member Posts: 97 ■■□□□□□□□□
HI Guys,

I started studying towards my CCNA in November last year, passed my INTRO exam at the end of January and will be doing the ICND exam next month. I have just started some more studying with the intention of doing the security plus exam and have my eye on some 12 week night classes for an MCSA at my local college. So, if all goes to plan I may well have a CCNA & MCSA Security in the next 18 months.

I have very little experience in the industry and all my IT knowledge is self taught i.e. I wanted to learn about windows domains so set one up at home, I wanted to learn about Linux so i set up a router and a mail server.

I am enjoying all the learning I am doing but realistically how employable is someone without industry experience?

Cheers

Jon

Comments

• Options
    malcyboodmalcybood Member Posts: 900 ■■■□□□□□□□
    where do you live?

It largely depends on this and also what you've set your sights on and expectations are.....

Realistically there is work out there at entry level but with no experience in a production environment you would probably need to start on the Helpdesk. If you're proactive and you appear to be very enthusiastic, an employer should take note of this and give you the opportunity to advance in a faster timescale.

Don't set your expectations of walking into a sys admin job as your first role. You'll have to work your way up (not neccessarily from Helpdesk, possible DT Support) but that's just life unfortunately!

I worked voluntarily for 5 hours a week whilst at university, got taken on paid after 3 months, graduated, got a helpdesk job for 12 months, moved into DT Support, now in network support within about 3 and a half years.

Good luck though and hat off to ya for your enthusiasm/commitment

Malc
  • Options
    Hi Malc,

Thanks for your input.

I am just outside Sheffield.