Options

CCNA Intro - Progress Report

Daniel333Daniel333 Member Posts: 2,077 ■■■■■■□□□□
So here is my CCNA Intro progress report....

I finished reading CCNA Self Study - CCNA Intro Exam Certification Guide (ISBN 1-58720-094-5) and having studied the book; I can go through and get 100% on the question provided in the book. Obviously, I have been studying those for three months, so I'd better be getting in the high 90s, right?

The pre-test from the CD, I received an 82% (not good, but my mistakes were more procedural than technical), and a 97% on the retake after rereading the relevant sections. I only got one wrong on the techexams.net test for CCNA-Intro. From there I busted out a LearnKey Cisco video CD set I was given by a buddy, and got two wrong out of 50 something, for semesters 1-2. (not counting Novell and Appletalk, as the CDs are dated from when those were on the CCNA)

So I am thinking another week or so of review and another say, 4-5 hours on the routers and I should have the Intro test down. And should be able to schedule it.

I suppose, I am really questioning the scope of the test. No where in the CCNA Self Study - CCNA Intro Exam Certification Guide does it ever explain how to even set up a VLAN or really explain ACLs. Yet, when running through the pre-tests I came across these questions. I was working under the idea, that if I came across a question, that seemed out of place, look in the CCNA Self Study - CCNA Intro Exam Certification Guide and if it was not in there. I didn't need to go into details. Just know "what" it is, and move on.

Am I going to get myself into trouble with that?

Also, I think I should get this Intro test out of the way, and focus more on the ICND material, as it seems a lot more "real" world. The Intro test, seems more like trivial memorization. What ya think?

Update: I just twice in a row received mid to upper 90% on the Cisco questions.
-Daniel

Comments

• Options
    liteheddedlitehedded Member Posts: 35 ■■□□□□□□□□