cover letter review, please!

MQuinn6MQuinn6 Member Posts: 65 ■■□□□□□□□□
I've pasted my cover letter below. Any ideas/comments? :)

Dear, xxx:

I am contacting you regarding the Desktop Support position posted on your website. Although I have a master’s degree in psychology, I have decided to change my career path. Several months ago I obtained my CCNA after completing the Cisco Networking Academy Program at a local college. I recently earned my MCP and am now currently studying for the MCDST. I plan on taking the A+ certification exams within the next few months as well. I also make all hardware and software upgrades on my own personal computer, as well as those of friends and family.

Before receiving my master’s degree, I was employed at a residential group home for autistic children, where I became a house manager after only one year. While working at the group home, I developed organizational and time management skills, as well as the ability to work in a fast paced and often stressful environment. I believe that these transferable skills will serve me well in the field of IT.

I feel that my past experiences have prepared me for the Desktop Support position. I look
forward to meeting with you to discuss my background further.

Sincerely,
xxx

Comments

• deneb829deneb829 Member Posts: 292
    Yikes! icon_eek.gif

Whew ... ok, initial shock over with. Now, let's get you cleaned up.

I think your focus on a Master's degree is a bit too much for a desktop support position. In fact, I wouldn't mention it in your cover letter at all and just bury it somewhere on your resume. I would also drop any mention on a career path change - save that for the interview, they'll ask you.