Very Nervous about upcoming interview

ITNYCITNYC Member Posts: 87 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hey guys, Its been a while since i post here but ive been working at my current company for 2 years now and have been looking to leave this slavery for a bit now. Well, as it turns out, one of the guys i worked with at my current job left for a much better opportunity for an investment bank and has recommended me to the manager there for an open Server Tech position. im stoked but at the same time, pretty nervous. What type of questions come up in these interviews? Usually they have phone screening but since i was recommended from the "inside" i have a direct interview with the IT manager and supervisor. How could i help better prepare myself? This job will pay $25k more than what i make now and i will have the chance to work along side great IT Professionals and learn ALOT more. Any advice guys? Thanks!

Comments

• PlantwizPlantwiz Mod Posts: 5,057 Mod
    -Make sure you 'know' or have read all the literature about the company (website, brochures, etc...)
    -With a friend on the inside, know all the key people, but don't just rely on the good words of your friend, make sure they see 'you' and not merely a friend referal (meaning, avoid "Joe told me about 'x'; Joe said 'y'; Joe, Joe, Joe....) Shoot for 'I know'; 'I've read'; 'I'm aware' that your company does 'x','y' and is working toward 'z'.
    -Know WHY you are leaving your old job ... or looking to leave and keep them and you in a positive light.
    -Can you see yourself working there for a few years? Or will you leave at the next 'big break'. (meaning do you know yourself well enough and are you in a relationship that may take you out of the area, do you have a house or are you renting? etc.... You may not be disclosing this information, but make certain you don't just blurt it out).
    -Have a clean and simple resume prepared.
    -Dress a little above the position
    -PRACTICE