Options

Where to next?

justoverjustover Member Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey All,

The test preps that I take I always seem to score 65% - 75% which is never going to pass me unless I get lucky.

I have been reading lots until my brain is about to explode with overload.

I think my problem is that I have no real practical experience prior to deciding to sit the MCSE, always been a break / fix technician.

I guess what I'm asking is should I have started with the XP exam first and should I perhaps spend more time on the exercises and practical side of things?

I have spent all this time on the 70-290 and feel I should see it through first.

How do I get that extra 15%-25% so that I can sit the exam?

Thanks Justin

Comments

• Options
    SlowhandSlowhand Mod Posts: 5,161 Mod
    One way, and one way only: hands-on experience. Get yourself a copy of Virtual PC or VMWare to install Server 2003 on, and set yourself up a lab. Pretty much any book you've got would have scenarios, as do a lot of websites that talk about MCSE training. You don't have to have worked with Server 2003 professionally, but you do need to have some actual hands-on practice before you sit for the test. Work with it for a while, and you'll get that extra 25% you need.

Free Microsoft Training: Microsoft Learn
    Free PowerShell Resources: Top PowerShell Blogs
    Free DevOps/Azure Resources: Visual Studio Dev Essentials

Let it never be said that I didn't do the very least I could do.
  • Options
    Vogon PoetVogon Poet Member Posts: 291
    What he said.
    For everything that you read, you should be able to apply it on a server. So every chapter you cover, you should spend considerable time working through it in a home lab situation. Experimentation is good.