Options

Cisco in small business (scenario questions)

markzabmarkzab Member Posts: 619
Ok, so here's the scenario. I work in the mortgage business. My 2 best firends are opening up their own company in about 2 weeks. In the mortgage business we use loan origination software called Calyx Point. That is the program each loan officer uses to keep track of clients, loans, etc. It's basically the whole ball and chain. Now the typical way it is done is you have Calyx on the server and each LO's PC terminals into the server to access the program. This keeps everything centralised obviously.

SO my friends are opening this new office, just one, and they have outside LO's. These are the guys who dont work in the office. They are out on their own getting deals from realtors and things like this. The way they are setting it up is they are giving these guys acess to the server via remote terminal connections from wherever they are. One guy is sitting at Starbucks or at his house...he just gets online and terminals into the server to access calyx and work on his files.

So I was sitting here just thinking to myself if there way a way I could make things cheaper for my friends by implementing cisco into their network and not using terminal access. Maybe ISDN for remote locations, frame realy, whatever. I asked them what their monthly fee for running all these terminal users would be and they told me that there was none. They just had a 1-time licensing fee per user.

I asked them why don't all small businesses do this instead of getting routers, switches, etc. My one friend told me that even Wyatt Earp, his old company, used Citrix for everything. Why dont all companies just use terminal server to get to what they need to?

Is there a way I could save my friends money with their current situation? Also obviously I'm missing some "grand scheme of things" concepts here. Any help would be appreciated.