Options

Looking for certifications to take for a lowbie

Bob KiwiBob Kiwi Member Posts: 23 ■□□□□□□□□□
So, I've been out of college for about a year now, with a BS in Computer Science (the Information Systems track).

I work for a relatively big (to me at least, being my first job) computer company in MD. We're small (only about 10 techs to do the non sales/management wok), and I've been given the responsibilities of making sure that projects go as planned in the field as more of a tech-turned-manager (which I am enjoying muchly).

My company has been pushing the techs to get certs, and so I've been picking them up as quickly as I can. I've gotten A+, Net+, and Security+. I'm studying for Server+. It's important to note that my company foots the bill for each test the first time around.

I really would love to stay away from Microsoft certs. And I don't have the years of experience it seems required to get lots of other certs. So I've just been getting CompTIA ones. After Server+, all that seems worthwhile would be i-Net+, Linux+, and Project+.

I'm looking for a little help for the future. What's best? Are there more vendor neutral ones that people look good upon? Should I move towards Cisco, and grudge through MS tests? I'm a big Apple fan, but I've resolved to wait until the 10.5 tests (as I also love tests with no expiration date, and Apple's seem to be yearlong).

Oh, and any certs that a lowbie tech could get that would really underline the pay me more angle would be sweet too!

P.S. Love the site, felt like after all the silently watching I'd ask for some direction!

Comments

• Options
    iDShaDoWiDShaDoW Member Posts: 67 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I'm studying for the CCNA myself at the moment. Just waiting on the stupid hardcover Sybex 5th edition to arrive in the mail to help me understand the subnetting and wildcard masks concepts a bit better.