Options

I am quite DNS ignorant. Please Help.

vsmith3rdvsmith3rd Member Posts: 142 ■■■□□□□□□□
I've set up a small domain at home consisting of one server running Windows Server 2003, serving as a DC and three workstations running XP Pro.

I have a Linksys router (internet gateway) providing DHCP service to the workstations, while the DC is static.

The workstations are set up to obtain DNS server information automatically, but I'm unable to determine the proper DNS setup for the DC. As I have a static IP, I am unable to set it to obtain a DNS server automatically. I can ping IP adresses from the server all day long, but I am unable to ping computer names.

I've tried setting up the DC as a DNS server, and having it point to itself (out of desperation), I've set my ISP DNS servers as the preferred DNS server (which I thought would work), but nothings working. I'm studying for the 70-290, and some of my lab examples are incountering DNS related problems. Any advise, as always, would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Certified Lunatic.

Comments

• Options
    elover_jmelover_jm Member Posts: 349
    ok buddy here's what u should do:

1. install DNS on your server

2. Upgrade your DNS Server to a Domain Controller (DC) by Running DCPROMO in run command

3. On Your server go to DNS console create a Primary forward lookup zone (make it Active Directory Integrated Zone)

4. Manually add an entry for ur DC in forward lookup zone

5. You can either manually add entries for the three XP machines in the forward lookup zones or configure DNS to be automaticaly updated.

6. Setup all three XP machines to use the DC ip address as it's Preffered DNS server.

hope this helps icon_wink.gif

if it doesn't google setup for more detailed instructions.... Good luck

oops i forget make sure you join the XP machines to the domain

hope i didn't forget anything else... Peace
    stonecold26.jpg
  • Options
    sprkymrksprkymrk Member Posts: 4,884 ■■■□□□□□□□