Options

What's an easy way to make a change in a web page?

ZoomerZoomer Member Posts: 126
My supervisor wants me to get rid of an introduction page on our website. I have no experience in designing or publishing web pages. But it seems like a simple task: Delete intro page so people can go straight to the main page. I logged into the colo and downloaded all the files and directories for the site.

Now what can I use to change the site? Would purchasing Dreamweaver help? I may be asked to start changing more to the site, but I don't want to go deleting something that would cause the site to not work anymore. Any suggestions?

Comments

• Options
    mrhaun03mrhaun03 Member Posts: 359
    Any time I do some HTML i just use notepad. I'm not big on webpage design, however, I do have to make some changes once in awhile to our company website.
    Working on Linux+
  • Options
    Is there a primary HTML file that I should work with? There's at least 20 or so different HTML files. I found the one that has the intro page on it. Would simply deleting this file do the trick? Or could that stop the page from working?
  • Options
    mwgoodmwgood Member Posts: 293
    Most webservers will default to a page titled index.html, index.htm, default.htm - or something like that.

If you just delete the main page - you will probably break the site. Given that you want to replace the main page with another page - you will want to rename the new page with the name of the previous page, and check all of your links that refer back to both the original and new pages.

If you need further help - please post the URL for the site, along with the the filenames of the pages you want to swap.
  • Options
    keatronkeatron Member Posts: 1,213 ■■■■■■□□□□
  • Options
    Yes, it's mostly a flash site. Almost all of the links or buttons are embedded in a flash object.
  • Options
    mwgoodmwgood Member Posts: 293
    Can you post the URL?
  • Options
    I managed to fix it.
  • Options