Options

Good beginning Linux CBT or step-by-step book

drakhan2002drakhan2002 Member Posts: 111
I hate to admit that I'm a Linux newbie - I've been in IT for 15 years and only have had a very high level exposure to Linux. Most of my work has been focused on Windows (since it was "the thing" back in the early 90's to be involved with...) and of course, way back, Novell. Anyway...I've managed to get by without Linux knowledge until now.

Now, I have just been ask to manage an application known as Tripwire Enterprise (http://www.tripwire.com). Tripwire will be used to meet our file intergrity requirement for PCI - so, as you can imagine this is a pretty important role at the bank.

My organization is a large Fortune 500 bank - we have a lot of Unix-based stuff here for our larger enterprise level applications - mostly AIX. Anyway, rather than having a deep administrator level understanding of Unix, I only need a higher level "operator" level understanding...and it is something I won't use very often either. I just need to be fluent in the lingo of Unix...that's where Linux comes in. I figure this is the quickest way to learn outside of working hours.

Does anyone have any recommendations as to a good CBT they liked or a good book that will quickly get me up to speed?

Thanks much!
It's not the moments of pleasure, it's the hours of pursuit...

Comments

• Options
    BeaverC32BeaverC32 Member Posts: 670 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Are you looking at learning a certain distribution of Linux, or will any distribution do?

I used the Linux+ LearnKey training my Mike Meyers, which is vendor-neutral. I installed a copy of Ubuntu on a virtual machine, and learned the basics of Linux that way. I've always been a Windows guy, but Linux popularity is growing and I was interested in learning something new.