Options

Advices needed

tehcy84tehcy84 Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi everyone,

I'm a BSc Software Engineering graduate (2006) and currently working as a software engineer/developer. However I don't feel like going to work as software engineer/developer for rest of my life...I'm start getting bored of it. Actually my main interest is computer security. I have a good knowledge of reverse engineering software protection (debugging, analyzing, and breaking), I wonder is there any certification for this kind of knowledge? I read a lot of post it's seem likes the CISSP is a very good choice of certification and it's quite challenging to sit for the exam. Any advices will be welcome for example which certifications should I get first and what I'm going to do next.

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I'd definitely hit-up the Security+ first. It'll give you a good foundation and get you more familiar with the various aspects of computer security. It will also count as an elective for other certifications, such as the MCSA/MCSE +Security.

www.syngress.com has a great Security+ book, and you can download the PDF version for $9. If nothing else, I'd at least grab that and go through it even if you want to skip out on the actual cert.

The CISSP requires a decent amount of work experience, so you might need to plan for that one for awhile: https://www.isc2.org/cgi-bin/content.cgi?category=1187

I don't know if anyone offers a software cracking cert :D
  • Options
    BeaverC32BeaverC32 Member Posts: 670 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Maybe the C|EH (Certified Ethical Hacker) certification might fit the bill? I'm not very familiar with the topics covered in this certification, so maybe someone can enlighten us :)
    MCSE 2003, MCSA 2003, LPIC-1, MCP, MCTS: Vista Config, MCTS: SQL Server 2005, CCNA, A+, Network+, Server+, Security+, Linux+, BSCS (Information Systems)
  • Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□