Path to network security engineer

neo468neo468 Member Posts: 123
Looking for tips from anyone in the network security field. What kind of job experience do I need to lead into a network security engineer role. What are the best certifications to help educate and qualify me for it. Right now I'm a desktop support manager, and assist network engineers in various small tasks. I have a pretty solid grasp of basic network support skills. I'm at a point where I could go into more of a manager role, or into more of a technical role, and would like to know which will be more adventageous to a career in network security. Thanks in advance.
1's and 0's

Comments

• markzabmarkzab Member Posts: 619
    The Security+ cert would be the way to start I've been told.
    "You, me, or nobody is gonna hit as hard as life. But it ain't how hard you hit; it's about how hard you can get hit, and keep moving forward. How much you can take, and keep moving forward. That's how winning is done!" - Rocky
  • AhriakinAhriakin Member Posts: 1,799 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Planning/Managerial: (many paths)->CISSP

Technical/Implementer: Security+->CCNA->CCSP->CCIE Security, or to a lesser extent MCSE: Security(not mocking the MCSE, but there's a greater level of depth on the engineering side, and a higher level of certification in the CCIE). You can throw in some other vendor security products and maybe ethical hacking/pen testing. But that's a decision you can make later.

Lots in betweens of course but these are the standout and most common tracks.
    We responded to the Year 2000 issue with "Y2K" solutions...isn't this the kind of thinking that got us into trouble in the first place?
  • drakhan2002drakhan2002 Member Posts: 111
    Engineering, Architect, Management, Analyst? You have several paths to go down. As someone who has several years of experience in the security field, I can say that no two paths to Information Security are the same.